Dennis the MenaceA few weeks ago, after Penelope stitched Twister back together and returned it to me for final additions and amendments, I found myself unaccountably reluctant to open the document. When I finally overcame my nerves I was impressed by how different it looked; kind of smoother, as if Penelope had got hold of my petulant, tin can kicking manuscript, washed its hair, and nagged it into a jacket and tie. Suddenly it’s all grown up and ready to stand alone … or is it that I am finally ready to empty-nest? After reading it through (again), and discovering a chapter missing (!), instances of name confusion and a couple of scenes completely out of sync, I’m almost ready to let it go.

I return my manuscript to Penelope. It leaves a gaping hole, which 20 tickets for the film festival will only partially plug …

